Records of the Cross Country folk trio Edit


PIMS 0030


  • 1983 – 1993 (Creation)


  • 1.29 Cubic Feet (Whole)
    1 full-size letter box, 1 half-size legal box, 1 card file box, 3 reels




  • Abstract

    The Baltimore-area musical group Cross Country performed folk music in the 1980s and early 1990s. The collection contains the trio's administrative documents, photographs, and recordings.

  • Conditions Governing Access

    The collection is open for use at the Peabody Archives.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Gift of Ned Quist in 1993.

  • Biographical / Historical

    Cross Country was a popular folk trio formed in 1986. Based in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. area, the trio was well known for their vocal harmonies and spirited instruments. The members, Ned Quist (tenor, guitar, and penny whistle), Carol Thomas Downing (soprano, fiddle, and 12-string guitar), and John Yankee (baritone, harmonica, and keyboard), all came from Peabody Institute.

    Ned Quist, originally from Vermont, settled in Baltimore in 1973. He earned degrees from Colgate University, Peabody Conservatory, and Catholic University. Quist was also Librarian of the Arthur Friedheim Library at the Peabody Conservatory of Music. In 1981, Quist began to perform with Carol Thomas Downing. A graduate of Towson University, Downing taught violin musicianship at the Peabody Preparatory. She was also the founder and director of the Peabody Children’s Chorus.

    Originally from Michigan, John Yankee moved to Baltimore in 1986 and was invited to join Downing and Quist in their performances. Yankee taught at Peabody, Garrison Forest, and Walden Schools, and was an active conductor, composer, arranger, and trumpeter.

    The trio gained popularity as they performed at various venues in the area. They performed at the Baltimore Folk Festival several years running, headlining the opening concert in 1990. They recorded their first album, Cross Country, in 1990. They released their second album, Never Grow Old, in 1992. The trio parted ways in the early 1990s but regrouped occasionally for reunion performances.

  • Preferred Citation

    [Name of folder or item], [Date], [Box number], [Folder number], Records of the Cross Country folk trio, PIMS.0030, Arthur Friedheim Library Special Collections, Peabody Institute, The Johns Hopkins University.

  • Processing Information

    Processed by Grace Minghsuan Tsai in 2016.

  • Related Materials

    A CD of Never Grow Old is available for circulation at the Arthur Friedheim Library and can be located through the library catalog.

  • Scope and Contents

    The records of the Cross Country folk trio (1983-1993) contain the musical group's administrative documents, photographs, and recordings. Series 1 consists of promotional material, venue information, correspondence, and set lists. Series 2 includes performance and promotional photographs of the group. Series 3 contains reel-to-reel and cassette recordings of Cross Country.

  • Conditions Governing Use

    Single copies may be made for research purposes. Researchers are responsible for determining any copyright questions. It is not necessary to seek our permission as the owner of the physical work to publish or otherwise use public domain materials that we have made available for use, unless Johns Hopkins University holds the copyright. All requests for permission to publish or perform materials in this collection must be submitted in writing to the archivist of the Arthur Friedheim Library.

Collection Details