Skip to main content

School of Arts and Sciences. Department of Political Science



  • Existence: 1901-


Beginning in 1877, Political Science was taught at Johns Hopkins University under the Seminary of History and Politics. In 1901, the departments separated and the Department of Political Science was established.

Dr. Adam Sheingate joined the faculty in 2000 and was appointed chair of the department in 2015.

Source: Department of Political Science finding aid (RG.04.150) Source:

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Department of Political Science records

 Record Group
Identifier: RG-04-150
Scope and Contents The records of the Department of Political Science range in date from 1929 to 1969, and from 2015 - Ongoing, with the preponderance of them covering the period from 1945 to 1960. The material relates to courses, scholarships, inter-departmental cooperation, post-war planning and admissions. Several lecture series and seminars are also within this record group; Congress Off the Record, a lecture series of 1951- 1952, brought to the Homewood campus such notables as Christian A. Herter, Jacob...
Dates: 1929-1969; 2015 - Ongoing

Francis Rourke papers

Identifier: MS-0657
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a vast array of research, teaching, and manuscript notes; book reviews, articles, publications, clippings, correspondence, and Johns Hopkins memoranda, spanning more than three decades of professor Francis Rourke's academic career.

Dates: 1950s-1980s